Making Democracy Work

The League of Women Voters of Wyoming presents the Making Democracy Work Award annually to a person or group who has contributed to improving the state or a community within the state. Only LWV members and current elected officials are ineligible. Past winners include journalists, judges, elected officials, groups, community activists, government employees, and teachers.

Watch video of the 2019 award ceremony, with winner Kathy Wright

Making Democracy Work Award Winners

1998 Irma Kern (Gillette)
1999 Diana J. Ohman (Cheyenne)
2000 Lisa Kinney (Laramie)
2001 Sheela Shermetzler (Gillette)
2002 30 Days for Justice (Casper)
2003 Sarah Gorin (Laramie)
2004 Elaine Roth (Gillette)
2005 Legislative Service Office (Cheyenne)
2006 Ann Robinson (Casper)
The MDW Award experienced a hiatus for serveral years.
2014 Wayis Twyford (Cheyenne, posthumously)
2015 Joan Barron (Casper)
2016 Matt Strannigan (Cheyenne)
2017 Arshi Rizwani-Nisley (Cheyenne)
2018 Mary Ellbogen Garland (Laramie)
2019 Kathy Wright (Cheyenne)

Two other winners are Marilyn Stebner Kite and Joe Lunne; exact years to be confirmed.

You can find more information on the Award details page.