72 indigenous candidates were elected to Congress, state legislatures, and city councils.

  • Andi Clifford (Northern Arapaho) was sworn into her second term as Wyoming state legislator
  • Kansas state legislators, Christina Haswood (Diné) and Stephanie Byers (Chicksaw) coordinated colors to be sworn into office
  • Two native candidates, Red Dawn Foster (Ogalala Lakota) and Troy Heinert (Rosebud Sioux) were sworn to the South Dakota state legislature.



Indigenous candidates taking oath in style

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Upcoming Events