The vote to advance the legislation in the Senate had 62 yes votes, somewhat less than the 67 percent support same-sex marriage enjoys nationally. Those 62 senators represent two-thirds of the country’s population. The graphic below show countries with bans on same-sex marriages.

This Respect of Marriage bill replaces another with the same name. Under the new law, all states must recognize all marriages that were legal where they were performed. The Republican senators who voted with Sen. Lummis are Sens. Susan Collins (ME), Thom Tills (NC), Rob Portman (OH), Richard Burr (NC), Todd Young (IN), Shelley Moore Capito (WV), Mitt Romney (UT), Joni Ernst (IA), Roy Blunt (MO), Lisa Murkowski (AK), and Dan Sullivan (AK).

The national LWV sent their official letter of support to the Senate in September 2022.

Same-sex Marriage Legislation Clears Senate & Senator Lummis Votes Yes 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Upcoming Events